London Lions

Photo: @mossfoto

London Lions v Plymouth Raiders

Congratulations to London Lions on a 2018/2019 BBL season to remember, a first ever BBL Championship title and BBL Cup Final triumph making for a memorable double.   

We’ll be back here with a preview of the Lions 2019/2020 home matches at the Copper Box Arena.  In the meantime visit our Events! page for news of all the best spectator action coming up in London. 

London Lions welcome Plymouth Raiders to the Copper Box Arena for a BBL play-off quarter-final second leg encounter with a historic trophy treble still on the cards for the hosts.  Tip-off is 4pm and tickets are available.

It’s so far so memorable for London Lions this season.  The Lions lifted their first piece of silverware back in January overcoming Radisson RED Glasgow Rocks in the BBL Cup Final at Arena Birmingham, a first BBL Cup victory for the Londoners since 2008.  Following that match Lions went from strength to strength in the league to climb to the top of the BBL table before wrapping up a first ever BBL Championship title with a 99-80 road win against Newcastle Eagles 99-80 at the end of April with a game to spare.

Commenting after the match Lions’ Head coach, Vince Macaulay said: “For me personally, it’s a vindication of what I believed all along, trying to put as many British players on the floor. For what we did in Hemel, for what we did in Milton Keynes, for the belief of people like the Mayor of London and the GLL had in us – to put us in the Copper Box. Also for the belief that Justin Robinson had to come home.

“It’s tremendous I’m just pretty speechless really in as far as what we’ve done, but obviously it’s not about one game. It’s about everything we’ve done over the last 32 games.”

Today’s match against Plymouth Raiders – who finished the regular season in 8th place – is the return quarter-final leg the teams having met yesterday afternoon at Plymouth Pavilions.  The overall aggregate score from the two matches will decide who goes through to the semi-finals.

Previous meeting: Prior to yesterday’s first leg the sides last met in BBL league action on 27 March in Plymouth.  London Lions taking the spoils courtesy of an impressive 93-67 road win.

London LionsOne to watch: Justin Robinson (pictured left) – the reigning league MVP has been hugely influential for the Lions as they strive for the BBL silverware on various fronts.  And never was his influence more striking than in the recent game against Newcastle Eagles, Robinson’s 35-point haul in a brilliant display leading the Lions to their title-winning win.

Tip-off is at 4pm.

Tickets in advance are available via the ‘Get Tickets’ link.

About the BBL: The British Basketball League (BBL) is the top men’s professional league in the UK.  Running from September to May the primary competition is the BBL Championship in which all 12 BBL teams play each other three times over the course of the season.  Leicester Riders are the current champions.  At the end of the regular season the top eight teams in the BBL Championship progress to the BBL Championship Play-offs.  The BBL Championship is considered the primary competition and its winner the number one team that season.

There are two knock-out competitions that run alongside the BBL Championship.  The BBL Trophy in which the BBL clubs are joined by guest clubs in a straight knockout competition culminating in the BBL Trophy Final and the BBL Cup which is a straight knock-out competition involving just the BBL clubs which culminates in the BBL Cup Final.

The top seven teams at the end of the current BBL season will also qualify for the British Basketball All-Stars Championship alongside defending champions Surrey Storm.  Taking place on 13 October and featuring multiple 12-minute games, an All-Star 5-point line and Golden Buzzer Power Play the British Basketball All-Stars Championship is a non-stop afternoon of fast-paced basketball action now in its third year.

The BBL teams for season 2018/2019 are Bristol Flyers, Cheshire Phoenix, DBL Sharks Sheffield, Esh Group Eagles Newcastle, Leicester Riders, London City Royals, London Lions, Manchester Giants, Plymouth Raiders, Radisson Red Glasgow Rocks , Surrey Scorchers and Worcester Wolves.

(BBL information courtesy of the British Basketball League website).