Perth Masters

Mercure City of Perth Masters

Day 1 of the 2018 Mercure City of Perth Masters at Dewars Centre where a stellar international field compete over the next four days for the City of Perth Mercure Masters trophy.  Play starts at 4.15pm and admission is free for spectators.

The City of Perth Masters is a highlight on the Scottish curling calendar, not to mention a reputation of being one of the finest events in Europe, and this year the tournament has once again attracted teams from all over the world.  With the Winter Olympics just a few weeks away (of which more below) alongside a strong home presence competing on the ice are teams from Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden and Switzerland.

Scotland have 10 teams in the draw including Team MacDonald led by skip Ewan McDonald (Olympian and former world champion), previous national champions Team Brewster and Team Smith.  Team Smith – led by Kyle Smith and also featuring Thomas Muirhead, Kyle Waddell, Cammy Smith and Glen Muirhead – will be the focus of much attention having been selected as the men’s team to represent Team GB at next month’s Winter Olympics.

The event has an added spice this year with no less than seven teams taking part who are heading to the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeonchang next month.  With only three teams missing out of the ten that will compete for the ultimate prize in curling there’s a real opportunity for one team to strike a big psychological advantage heading into the Olympics.

The 32-team draw competition gets underway this afternoon to herald the start of four days of fierce curling action before the trophy is awarded on Sunday afternoon to the last team standing.  Spectating is free at this unique opportunity to watch world-class curling at what many are seeing as a dress rehearsal for the men’s curling competition at the Winter Olympics.

Play gets underway today with two sessions of play, one at 4.15pm followed by another at 8.30pm.  Each session will feature a total of 8 knockout matches.

This is today’s draw at the Perth Masters together with the team lists (latter at page 5).

It’s free entry to the Dewars Centre, as all roads lead to Perth for what promises to be four days of superb curling action at the City of Perth Masters.  Don’t miss it!