london sevens

Rugby Union (M)

World Rugby Sevens Series. London Sevens

A rugby weekend to savour continues in Twickenham with Finals Day at the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.  London Sevens tickets are available.

The world’s best 7s players are in the capital this weekend for the penultimate round of the 2018/2019 World Sevens Series (for an introduction to the competition see below) ahead of the Round 10 finale in Paris next weekend.

london sevensAfter 8 rounds of global action USA sit on top of the standings on 145 points with Fiji just two points behind.  Simon Amor’s England side are in fifth place on 107 points, fourteen points behind current champions South Africa who are on 121.  With the top four sides from the 2018/2019 series guaranteed a place at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, and England the nominated nation to qualify for Team GB, there’s all to play for in front of a home crowd this weekend.

In their last outing in Singapore, England secured bronze to add to their third-place finishes in Dubai and Sydney so far this campaign.

Today’s Round 9 action – Finals Day – features no less than 21 matches starting at 9.30am with the opening match in the Challenge Trophy quarter-finals all the way through to the Cup Final at 6pm.  This is today’s playing schedule in full.

One to watch: England’s James Rodwell.  The world’s most capped sevens player – Rodwell played in his 90th World Sevens Series tournament earlier this year in Hamilton – makes his final appearance at Twickenham before retiring from competitive rugby at the end of the season.

Matches start at 9.30amlondon sevens

Tickets in advance are available via the ‘Get Tickets’ link.

Tickets on the gate subject to availability.  Checking the England Rugby Twitter feed before travelling is recommended.

Travel tips:  Three train stations (Twickenham, Whitton and St Margaret’s) are all only a 10 minute walk from the stadium.  There is, alternatively, a shuttle bus from Richmond and Hounslow East stations.  Park is very limited as the stadium is in a controlled parking zone.  Stadium parking can be purchased in advance through the stadium’s own website.

About the World Rugby Sevens Series: The HSBC World Rugby Sevens series for men consists of 10 tournaments held around the world, in which national sevens teams compete for series points at each round.  An overall champion is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout the 10 events, from the opening round in Dubai in November to the final round in Paris in June.  The current champions are South Africa who won the 2017/2018 series with Australia finishing runners-up.

There are 15 ‘core’ teams who participate at each round of the series.  The 16th team is an invitational team.  Since the 2012-13 season a promotion and relegation system from the series came into effect.  Qualification to become a core team takes place in Hong Kong in April.  Russia were relegated from the 2017 Series and Japan qualified as a core team for 2018.

The core teams for 2018/2019 are: Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA and Wales.

Just as for Rio 2016 the top four teams in the standings (both men’s and women’s) at the end of the 2018/2018 series will qualify for the next Olympics which take place in Tokyo in 2020.