London Marathon

Photo: Thomas Lovelock for Virgin Money London Marathon

London Marathon

Congratulations to Eliud Kipchoge who confirmed his status as the marathon GOAT with an imperious performance in the men’s race winning a record fourth London Marathon in a course record 2:02.37 and the second fastest time ever!  Mo Farah retained his British title finishing fifth in a time of 2:05.39 while Callum Hawkins took over two minutes off his personal best finishing tenth in a time of 2:08.14 to move to third on the all-time UK list.  

In the women’s race Brigid Kosgei ran a personal best of to win her first London Marathon with defending champion Vivian Cheruiyot in second.  Charlotte Purdue finished top Brit in tenth place in 2:25.38 a time that – like Hawkins in the men’s – moved her to third on the all-time UK list.  In the men’s wheelchair rising star American Daniel Romanchuk won for the first time ahead of Switzerland’s Marcel Hug in second and Japan’s Tomoki Suzuki in third.  Britain’s eight-time winner David Weir finished fifth.  Meanwhile the women’s wheelchair race saw Manuela Schar of Switzerland take the honours to add to her Berlin, Chicago, New York and Tokyo triumphs.  

We’ll be back here with a preview of the 2020 race.  In the meantime visit our Events! page now for news of all the best spectator action coming up in London. 

A clash of the long-distance running greats not to be missed on the streets of the capital as Eliud Kipchoge goes head-to-head with Sir Mo Farah in the London Marathon.  The race starts at 10.10am and spectating is free on the route.

Hold on to your running shoes the 2019 Virgin Money London Marathon men’s race may just be one of the best ever.  In the blue corner Eliud Kipchoge – the world record holder after his astonishing 2:01.39 run in Berlin in September – returns to defend the title he won in 2018.  In the red corner GB’s very own Mo Farah – four-time Olympic gold medallist and six-time world champion – fresh from his first marathon victory in Chicago in October and who finished third behind Kipchoge in London last year.

Kipchoge (main picture) is unbeaten in London with three victories from his three appearances in 2015, 2016 and 2018.  The holder of the course record of 2:03.05 will become the most successful athlete in the elite men’s race in London Marathon history with a win.  But Mo writes his own scripts and will be desperate to win on home soil ahead of a tilt at the Olympic marathon title in Tokyo next year.  Also in the mix are former London Marathon champions Wilson Kipsang and Daniel Wanjiru while GB has strong representation in the form of Callum Hawkins and Dewi Griffiths.  Hawkins runs a marathon for the first time since he collapsed at the Commonwealth Games last year when on track to win the marathon race while Griffiths looks to be in the shape that saw him run a 2:09.49 on his marathon debut in Frankfurt in 2017.

The 39th edition of the London Marathon is also destined for a battle royale in the women’s race.  Multiple world champion and 2016 Olympic 5000m gold medallist Vivian Cheruiyot from Kenya is set to take on her countrywomen Mary Keitany who set the women-only world record for the marathon when winning in London in 2017.  It’s a repeat of last year’s head-to-head which saw Cheruiyot triumph having kept a calm head when Keitany set off at a blistering pace only to falter in the second half of the race.  The battle to be first Brit home is set to been keenly fought between Charlotte Purdue and Lily Partridge.  Purdue is fresh from half marathon success defending her Big Half title in London last month while Partridge finished in eighth place and first GB women home in last year’s London Marathon.

In the men’s wheelchair race all eyes will be on David Weir.  The eight-time winner of the race – 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2017 and 2018 is the full roster – competes for an astonishing 20th consecutive year.  The six-time Paralympic champion – famously part of the magical ‘Thriller Thursday’ at London 2012 when British athletes took the Paralympics by storm – first raced in the London Marathon in 2000 aged 19 years old.  Speaking in the lead up to the race Weir said: “Every year I say to myself that even if I only do one race, it has got to be the London Marathon. It is such a special event for me.  It’s amazing to be getting ready for my 20th race. It has been an incredible journey from my first London Marathon back in 2000 and I feel very proud that I have not missed a single race since that very first one.  Meanwhile in the women’s wheelchair race the hot favourite is Australia’s Commonwealth champion Madison de Rozario who is back to defend the title she won in 2018.

2019 Start Times: 

9.05am – Elite Wheelchair Races
9.10am – World Para Athletics Marathon Championships Ambulant Athletes
9.25am – The Elite Women’s Race
10.10am – The Elite Men’s Race, British Athletics & England Athletics Marathon Championships and Mass Race

The route: 

Elite races start in Blackheath, Lewisham.  The mass race starts at 10am from Blackheath and Greenwich Park.  From Blackheath the race heads east through Charlton and Woolwich for three miles, turns west and passes the Cutty Sark in Greenwich after six to seven miles.  It crosses the River Thames at Tower Bridge (just before the 13.1 mile mark) before looping around the east end of London, past Canary Wharf in Docklands, before heading west again along the Highway and the Embankment to Parliament Square, Birdcage Walk and the final corner in front of Buckingham Palace to finish on The Mall.

This is the 26.2 mile route in full together with spectator information for the day including how to get around the course and best viewing spots.

Spectating is free on the course.