Muller Anniversay Games


Müller Anniversary Games – Olympic Stadium

The biggest stars in global athletics are in London this weekend.  Day 1 of the Müller Anniversary Games has lift-off from 1.20pm and tickets are on sale.

Forming part of the worldwide IAAF Diamond League tour, this year’s Müller Anniversary Games promises two days of world-class action with British and international stars confirmed to compete along with no less than than six world champions – Wayde Van Niekerk (RSA), Sally Pearson (AUS), Karsten Warholm (NOR), Mutaz Barshim (QAT), Katerina Stefanidi (GRE) and Christian Taylor (USA) – from the London 2017 World Championships.

Saturday’s action (full timetable below) features international stardust in the shape of London 2012 Olympic and double world 100m hurdles champion Sally Pearson of Australia and two-time Olympic and three-time world triple jump champion Christian Taylor of the USA.  Joining Pearson and Taylor is the flamboyant world and European 400m hurdles champion Karsten Warholm from Norway who is sure to put on another crowd-pleasing performance.

There’s plenty for home fans to look out for with European 1500m champion and double-double European indoor champion Laura Muir going in the women’s 1500m in a strong field that includes Olympic and world 1500m champion Faith Kipyegon from Kenya alongside Poland’s European 1500m silver medallist Sofia Ennaou and the world indoor 1500m silver medallist Dawit Seyaum from Ethiopia.

In the men’s T64 100m Jonnie Peacock returns to the track where he famously won gold at the London 2012 Paralympics while the women’s pole fault features Preston star Holly Bradshaw up against Olympic and world pole vault champion Katerina Stefanidi from Greece. 

In the men’s 100m GB’s Zharnel Hughes will have his hands full in a field including Yohan Blake and Andre De Grasse while the women’s 200m features Katarina Johnson-Thompson (taking time out from the heptathlon) and Beth Dobbin for GB up against double gold medallist from the Rio Olympics, Elaine Thompson.

Also announced this week Norway’s teenage sensation Jakob Ingebrigtsen – who set the world alight last year as he won double European gold over 1500m and 5000m – will race in today’s 5000m.  Competition will be fierce as he faces some of the quickest in the world this year including Ethiopia’s Hagos Gebrhiwet third quickest in the world this year.  Six Brits will tow the line including Scottish record holder Andrew Butchart who has already got close to his personal best this year in Rome and will be aiming to go one better in front of a home crowd.

A key meeting in the countdown to the World Championships later this year in Doha and the Olympic and Paralympic Games at Tokyo 2020, the Müller Anniversary Games is a great opportunity to witness some of the best athletes on the planet in action in the capital.

Gates open at 11am ahead of the first event at 1.20pm. 

Tickets in advance are available via the Get Tickets link.

Tickets on the day subject to availability from the ticket office at 10am.  Checking the British Athletics Twitter feed before travelling is recommended.

Travel tips: Public transport is recommended as the easiest way to get to and from the Olympic Stadium.

Stratford and Stratford International are within walking distance.  Stratford is served by Central & Jubilee lines, Docklands Light Railway (DLR), London Overground and National Rail services operated by Greater Anglia and C2C.   Stratford international station (20 minute walk) is served by Docklands Light Railway amd Southeastern High Speed 1 services

Hackney Wick station (20 minute walk) is served by the London Overground.

By bus the 388, 339 and D9 services stop close to the stadium.

For more information on public transport options visit the Transport For London website.

No spectator parking is available at the stadium.  The closest car parks to London Stadium are situated in Stratford International Station and Westfield Shopping Centre Stratford.