Celtic Clash

Photo: basketballscotland

Celtic Clash. Scotland v Ireland

Scotland’s Senior Men take on Ireland in the first match of the Celtic Clash as preparations continue towards the 2018 Commonwealth Games.  Tip-off is at 7.30pm and tickets are available online.

Taking place at the new National Performance Sports Centre, Oriam, in Edinburgh, this triangular international fixture will see Celtic rivals Scotland, Ireland and Wales battle against each other over three days of international on-court competition.

Scotland’s Senior Men get the weekend-long series underway tonight as they go up against Ireland tonight, as the home side continue their build-up to next year’s Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast.

A 13-man Scottish squad (full details below) includes stars from Glasgow Rocks including Jonny Bunyan, GB captain Kieron Achara and felow GB international Gareth Murray.

Head of Basketball at basketballscotland, Barry Lang, is looking forward to June’s tournament at Oriam: “We’re really excited to welcome both Ireland and Wales to Scotland.  This is a vitally important summer season for both our Men’s and Women’s National Teams.  This will be a great opportunity for fans to see the Scotland Senior Men play on home-court as we continue preparation for Gold Coast 2018 qualification. We are working hard in the background to secure more fixtures for both programmes and look to announce these shortly.”

Scotland National Performance Coach, Erik Olson, is excited by the challenge: “This will be a great first test for the guys, we’re excited to play in front of a local crowd as we continue our build-up to this Summer’s qualifiers. This is a great chance for fans to see some of the best Scottish talent on their front door step and we hope to put on a great show for them.”

Scottish Squad: 

Bantu Burroughs (Glasgow Rocks) ~ Jonny Bunyan (Glasgow Rocks) ~ Lee Reilly (Glasgow Rocks) ~ Eddie Matthews (Leeds Force) ~ Eoghann Dover (Boroughmuir Blaze) ~ Gareth Murray (Glasgow Rocks) ~ Fraser Malcolm (Black Hills State University) ~ Nick Collins (basketballpaisley) ~ Kieron Achara (Glasgow Rocks) ~ Alasdair Fraser (Ehingen Urspring) ~ Skyler White (Point Loma Sea Lions) ~ Calum Nicol (City of Edinburgh Basketball) ~ Ross Gibson (Sony Centre Falkirk Fury)

Tip-off is at 7.30pm.

Tickets in advance are available via the Get Tickets link.

The action continues on Saturday with Ireland v Wales at 3pm, with Scotland v Wales on Sunday a 1pm tip-off.