london city royals

London City Royals v Sheffield Sharks

Congratulations to London City Royals on an inaugural BBL season to remember, finishing fourth in the BBL Championship, runners-up in the Play-Off Final and winning the BBL Trophy.  Not a bad haul!   

We’ll be back here with a preview of the Royals 2019/2020 home matches at Crystal Palace Sports Centre.  In the meantime visit our Events! page for news of all the best spectator action coming up in London. 

London City Royals welcome Sharks Sheffield to the Crystal Palace National Sports Centre for the second leg of their BBL Play-Off semi-final showdown.  Tip-off is 8pm and tickets are available.

London City RoyalsLondon City Royals have already had a maiden season to remember in the British Basketball League (see below for an introduction to the BBL) defeating London Lions in the BBL Trophy final in Glasgow at the beginning of March.  The Royals got their hands on a first piece of silverware after a nail-biting 90-82 win in overtime against their London rivals and have their sights set on benecos BBL Play-Off glory having finished the regular season in 4th place.

The Royals are now just one match away from an appearance in next Sunday’s BBL Play-Off Finals at The O2.  Standing in their way are Sheffield Sharks.

Tonight’s match is the deciding leg of semi-final double-header that saw the teams meet at EIS Sheffield on Thursday evening in the first leg.  The team with the highest aggregate score over the two legs will progress to next weekend’s finals.

In the quarter-finals Sheffield Sharks overturned a first leg deficit to see off Esh Group Eagles Newcastle while London City Royals made it through to the last four despite a second leg defeat to Glasgow Rocks.

Previous meeting: 23 March.  Sheffield Sharks taking a tense 72-65 road win at Crystal Palace.

Ones to watch: Matthew Bryan-Amaning has been a real driving force for London City Royals in their first season in the top tier of UK club basketball, his 24-point haul in the quarter-final first leg against Glasgow Rocks to sway the tie in favour of the Royals a perfect example.  Meanwhile Sheffield Shark’s Chris Alexander led the way for the Sharks with a 28-point haul in their quarter-final defeat of Newcastle Eagles and will be a danger man for the Sharks.

Tip-off is at 8pm.

Tickets in advance are available via the ‘Get Tickets’ link.

Tickets on the door subject to availability.  Checking the London City Royals Twitter feed before travelling is recommended.

About the BBL: The British Basketball League (BBL) is the top men’s professional league in the UK.  Running from September to May the primary competition is the BBL Championship in which all 12 BBL teams play each other three times over the course of the season.  Leicester Riders are the current champions.  At the end of the regular season the top eight teams in the BBL Championship progress to the BBL Championship Play-Offs.  The BBL Championship is considered the primary competition and its winner the number one team that season.

There are two knock-out competitions that run alongside the BBL Championship.  The BBL Trophy in which the BBL clubs are joined by guest clubs in a straight knockout competition culminating in the BBL Trophy Final and the BBL Cup which is a straight knock-out competition involving just the BBL clubs which culminates in the BBL Cup Final.

The top seven teams at the end of the current BBL season will also qualify for the British Basketball All-Stars Championship alongside defending champions Surrey Storm.  Taking place on 13 October and featuring multiple 12-minute games, an All-Star 5-point line and Golden Buzzer Power Play the British Basketball All-Stars Championship is a non-stop afternoon of fast-paced basketball action now in its third year.

The BBL teams for season 2018/2019 are Bristol Flyers, Cheshire Phoenix, DBL Sharks Sheffield, Esh Group Eagles Newcastle, Leicester Riders, London City Royals, London Lions, Manchester Giants, Plymouth Raiders, Radisson Red Glasgow Rocks , Surrey Scorchers and Worcester Wolves.

(BBL information courtesy of the British Basketball League website).