London Lions

Photo: @mossfoto

London Lions v Leicester Riders

Congratulations to London Lions on a 2018/2019 BBL season to remember, a first ever BBL Championship title and BBL Cup Final triumph making for a memorable double.   

We’ll be back here with a preview of the Lions 2019/2020 home matches at the Copper Box Arena.  In the meantime visit our Events! page for news of all the best spectator action coming up in London. 

London Lions can relax tonight and enjoy the acclaim of their fans as they celebrate a historic BBL title win with a match against Leicester Riders.  Tip-off at the Copper Box Arena is 4pm and tickets are available.

It’s been a season to remember for London Lions in the British Basketball League (see below for an introduction to the BBL).   Going into Friday night’s match against Esh Group Eagles the London side had already lifted silverware overcoming Radisson RED Glasgow Rocks in the BBL Cup Final at Arena Birmingham.  The match finished 68-54 in favour of the Londoners who won the BBL Cup for the first time since 2008.  After that match in January the Lions went from strength to strength to sit proudly on top of the BBL Championship .

London Lions

Last weekend Cheshire Phoenix proved the ultimate party poopers failing to read the script and winning a close match at the Copper Box that would otherwise have ensured a first ever BBL Championship title for the Lions.  However on Friday night London Lions made no mistake clinching the title for the first time with a 99-80 road win against Newcastle Eagles to wrap up the league spoils with a game to spare.

Commenting after the match Lions’ Head coach, Vince Macaulay said: “For me personally, it’s a vindication of what I believed all along, trying to put as many British players on the floor. For what we did in Hemel, for what we did in Milton Keynes, for the belief of people like the Mayor of London and the GLL had in us – to put us in the Copper Box. Also for the belief that Justin had to come home.

“It’s tremendous I’m just pretty speechless really in as far as what we’ve done, but obviously it’s not about one game. It’s about everything we’ve done over the last 32 games.”

This afternoon’s visitors Leicester Riders were the only team who could threaten Lions’ league dominance however regardless of the result tonight the Riders will have to settle for second.

Previous meeting: Back in early November.  London Lions narrowly securing a crucial road trip, the scoreline 76-73, that has ultimately put them in the title driving seat against their closest rivals.

One to watchJustin Robinson (pictured above) the reigning league MVP has been hugely influential for the Lions as they strive for the BBL league title.  And never was his influence more striking than on Friday night, Robinson’s 35-point haul against Newcastle in a brilliant display leading the Lions to their title-winning win.

Tip-off is at 4pm.

Tickets in advance are available via the ‘Get Tickets’ link.

About the BBL: The British Basketball League (BBL) is the top men’s professional league in the UK.  Running from September to May the primary competition is the BBL Championship in which all 12 BBL teams play each other three times over the course of the season.  Leicester Riders are the current champions.  At the end of the regular season the top eight teams in the BBL Championship progress to the BBL Championship Play-offs.  The BBL Championship is considered the primary competition and its winner the number one team that season.

There are two knock-out competitions that run alongside the BBL Championship.  The BBL Trophy in which the BBL clubs are joined by guest clubs in a straight knockout competition culminating in the BBL Trophy Final and the BBL Cup which is a straight knock-out competition involving just the BBL clubs which culminates in the BBL Cup Final.

The BBL teams for season 2018/2019 are Bristol Flyers, Cheshire Phoenix, DBL Sharks Sheffield, Esh Group Eagles Newcastle, Leicester Riders, London City Royals, London Lions, Manchester Giants, Plymouth Raiders, Radisson Red Glasgow Rocks , Surrey Scorchers and Worcester Wolves.

(BBL information courtesy of the British Basketball League website).