City of Perth Ladies International

EDF Energy City of Perth Ladies International

City of Perth Ladies InternationalCongratulations to Team Flaxey who beat Team Tirinzoni in the final of the 2017 EDF Energy City of Perth Ladies International.  The tournament will be back in 2018 and in the meantime there’s plenty more curling action to look forward to in 2018.  For all the latest spectator news subscribe now to our free weekly newsletter!

Day 1 of the EDF Energy City of Perth Ladies International at Dewars Centre, Perth.  A Champions Curling Tour event featuring 24  of the best women’s teams from around the world, spectating is free.

Teams from Canada, Switzerland, Finland, USA, Poland, Germany, England, Sweden, Japan and Scotland will ensure the level of competition is fierce over the next four days.  24 teams in total are divided into 4 sections of 6, with a round robin format, followed by knockout play.  The top 2 teams in each section following the round robin qualify for the quarter-finals on Saturday evening followed by the semi-finals and final on Sunday.  The eventual winners will receive the £4,000 first prize with a total prize fund available in excess of £10,000.

This the full list of teams taking part at the City of Perth Ladies International.  It includes a strong Scottish contingent headed by Team Muirhead, the defending champions from 2016.  Muirhead (main picture) is fresh from leading Scotland’s women curlers to a World Championship bronze in Beijing just last week.  Also on the ice are last year’s City of Perth Ladies International runners-up Team Tirinzoni, who will be aiming to take the top prize in 2017.

Play on day 1 gets underway at 4pm with the first of two sessions, the second starting at 8pm.  Check out the full draw for today’s action and an in-depth look at who is playing when.

It’s free entry to the Dewars Centre, as all curling roads lead to Perth for what promises to be a week of unmissable action on the ice leading up to to Sunday’s finals.