RideLondon Classique

Photo: Prudential RideLondon

Track Cycling

Prudential RideLondon Classique

The capital hosts a big day on the sporting calendar as the world’s best female road cyclists take to the streets of London in the Prudential RideLondon Classique.  Race starts just after 5pm and spectating is free on the route.

 A spectacular 3.4km circuit in central London (map of the route below) starting and finishing on The Mall is the venue for today’s race which has been awarded UCI World Tour status by the world’s governing body for cycling, the Union CycIiste Internationale (UCI).

The Prudential RideLondon Classique is a race which has thrilled the fans in recent years.  In 2018 Holland’s Kirsten Wild (main picture) made history becoming the first woman to win the Prudential RideLondon Classique for a second time navigating around a late crash and powering past her rivals to take the world’s richest one-day prize.  A year prior the Sunweb team had triumphed with American Coryn Rivera winning the race after a frantic sprint down The Mall.

Photo: Prudential RideLondon

In 2016 the Prudential RideLondon Classique had replaced the Prudential RideLondon Grand Prix criterium race with Kirsten Wild claiming the first of her two victories.  And it was in 2013 at the inaugural Prudential RideLondon Grand Prix when a certain Laura Trott – supported by her Team Wiggle Honda and Great Britain teammates Joanna Rowsell and Dani King – beat national criterium champion Hannah Barnes in a dramatic finale. 

Who will win the 2019 edition?  Sixteen of the world’s top professional teams will race a tight circuit of 3.4 kilometres around St James’s Park and Constitution Hill covering a distance of 68km before finishing on The Mall. 

The 20-lap course makes for great spectating.  See the map below for best viewing spots and read on for race timings and our ‘ones to watch’.

Ones to watch: This is the full list of teams taking part including Team Drops representing the UK and led by Olympic team pursuit champion Elinor Barker and also featuring her younger sister Megan Barker

CCC-Liv include the legendary Marianne Vos – considered by many to be the finest cyclist of her generation – in their line-up and Team Sunweb are back with Coryn Rivera aiming to repeat her 2017 victory.  Add to the mix defending champion Kirsten Wild racing for Team WNT-Rotor and this year could just be the most exciting edition of the race yet.

Race starts at 5.05pm and is predicted to finish between 6.40pm-6.45pm.  The start and finish is on The Mall.

Spectating is free on the route.