WDF Lakeside World Championship


2022 WDF Lakeside World Championship ~ Saturday 2nd to Sunday 10th April

🎯 Frimley Green is the place to be as 72 darts players from around the globe take to the oche for the inaugural WDF Lakeside World Championship. 

CONGRATULATIONS to Neil Duff who defeated Thibault Tricole 6-5 in a dramatic men’s final to win the 2022 WDF Lakeside World Championship and to Beau Greaves who – at the age of 18 – put on a stunning display to see off Kirsty Hutchinson when winning the women’s title and in so doing became the youngest-ever darts world champion.  And showing the darts future is bright, well done to Bradly Roes and Eleanor Cairns who won the boy’s and girls’ titles respectively.  Stay tuned here for news of the 2023 tournament as soon as published.

👀 LOVE LIVE SPORT?  Visit our ‘What’s On’ page here for the No. 1 guide to spectator experiences coming up in LONDON.  And to ensure you don’t miss a moment of the action subscribe here to our newsletter. 👀

A famous venue on the sporting scene having hosted no less then 34 world championships this week sees the welcome return of darts to the Lakeside Country Club and the promise of nine days of darting drama.  The WDF Lakeside World Championship was scheduled to take place in January 2022 only to be be postponed due to issues caused by Covid.  But now the waiting is over. 

Taking place from Saturday 2 April – Sunday 10 April a unique atmosphere is guaranteed at the Lakeside which will crown no less than four champions on ‘Finals Sunday’ with the finals for the girls and boys followed by the women’s and men’s finals.

* The senior draws have been made (in full below) and in the men’s draw Wayne Warren – looking to become a world champion for the second time in his career – opens his 2022 Lakeside WDF World Championship campaign against either Lee Shewan or Jordan Brooks.

Three-time world champion Martin ‘Wolfie’ Adams faces the prospect of a tough first-round tie against Jarred Cole, one of the two UK-based qualifiers.  Meanwhile number one seed Brian Raman will face either Johnny Haines or the United States’ Leonard Gates.

In the women’s draw defending champion Mikuru Suzuki will face former British Classic Champion Laura Turner in her opening match of the tournament, with the winner facing fourth seed Aileen de Graaf, while three-time world champion Anastasia Dobromyslova plays the winner of Paula Jacklin versus Rhian O’Sullivan

Number one seed and three-time Lakeside finalist Deta Hedman will face either Lorraine Hyde or Australia’s Tori Kewish.

Book your WDF Lakeside World Championship seats now as world-class darts makes its welcome return to Frimley Green. 

🎯 Sessions start: 1pm and 7pm daily.

🎟️ Tickets for the WDF Lakeside World Championships are off sale. 

* Full senior draw for the 2022 Lakeside WDF World Championship

Men’s draw
Brian Raman – BEL (1) Vs Leonard Gates (USA) / Johnny Haines (ENG)
Antony Allen – ENG (16) Vs Martin Adams (ENG) / Jarred Cole (ENG)
Luke Littler – ENG (8) Vs Ben Hazel (ENG) / Haupai Puha (NZ)
Richard Veenstra – NED (9) Vs Andreas Harrysson (SWE) / Laszlo Kadar (ROU)
Ross Montgomery – SCO (4) Vs Aaron Turner (ENG) / Jim McEwan (SCO)
Michael Warburton – WAL (13) Vs Mark Graham (WAL) / Dave Prins (ENG)
Neil Duff – NIR (5) Vs Paul Hogan (ENG) / Justin Thompson (AUS)
Nick Fullwell – ENG (12) Vs Mark Barilli (SCO) / Rory Hansen (CAN)
Thibault Tricole – FRA (2) Vs Connor Scutt (ENG) / Shawn Burt (CAN)
Alexsey Kadochnikov – RDF (15) Vs Steve Hine (ENG) / Kevin Luke (USA)
Andy Baetens – BEL (7) Vs Dave Parletti (ENG) / Shaun McDonald (SCO)
Scott Marsh – ENG (10) Vs James Richardson (ENG) / Sebastian Steyer (POL)
Wayne Warren – WAL (3) Vs Lee Shewan (ENG) / Jordan Brooks (ENG)
Cameron Menzies – SCO (14) Vs Ian Jones (ENG) / David Cameron (CAN)
James Hurrell – ENG (6) Vs John Desremaux (BEL) / Mario Vandenbogaerde (BEL)
Jules van Dongen – USA (11) Vs Francesco Raschini (ITA) / Ryan de Vreede (NED)

Women’s draw
Deta Hedman – ENG (1) Vs Lorraine Hyde (SCO) / Tori Kewish (AUS)
Lorraine Winstanley – ENG (8) Vs Vicky Pruim (SWE) / Desi Mercer (NZ)
Aileen de Graaf – NED (4) Vs Laura Turner (ENG) / Mikuru Suzuki (JPN)
Beau Greaves – ENG (5) Vs Paula Murphy (USA) / Veronika Ihasz (HUN)
Anastasia Dobromyslova – RDF (2) VS Paula Jacklin (ENG) / Rhian O’Sullivan (WAL)
Maria O’Brien – ENG (7) Vs Amanda Harwood (ENG) / Marjolein Noijens (NED)
Anca Zijlstra – NED (3) Vs Corrine Hammond (AUS) / Darlene van Sleeuwen (CAN)
Kirsty Hutchinson – ENG (6) Vs Suzanne Smith (ENG) / Elena Shulgina (RDF)

🚊🚗Travel tips: Frimley and Farnborough are the nearest railway stations to the Lakeside Country Club.  Plan your journey at the Transport for London website. 

👀 For more great spectator sport check out our ‘What’s On‘ page.  And for regular reminders to ensure you don’t miss a moment of the action subscribe now to our free newsletter!