Photo: Cricket Scotland

ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier – Europe/ Americas

The penultimate day of the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier – Europe/ Americas taking place this week at Stirling Cricket Club.  Play starts at 10am with Scotland versus USA followed by USA against the Netherlands at 2.30pm.  Spectating is free.

Scotland, USA and the Netherlands go head to head this week in a triangular tournament to decide which team will qualify for the ICC Women’s World T20 Global Qualifier to be played late 2117/early 2018.

The format: The three teams will compete in a double-round robin format (for the full squads see below), with the top two sides joining Full Member’s Ireland and Bangladesh alongside the other 4 regional qualifiers in the final stage of qualification for the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20.

Scotland will be hoping to take advantage of the home conditions and make the most of a good summer of preparation to showcase some strong performances and ensure they are one of the teams that make it to the global stage.

The Netherlands will be led by new captain Heather Siegers and will take confidence from some good results in the English domestic competition, where they finished 2nd in their Division 3 group. The Dutch women have made it to the global T20 qualifier on both previous occasions and will be looking to make it 3 from 3 by the end of next week.

Team USA come into the event as a relatively unknown quantity, having not competed in an ICC event for a number of years. The team has undergone a lot of preparation for this tournament, and will be hoping to surprise both European sides to reach their first global women’s T20 event.

Play starts at 10am with Scotland v USA followed by USA versus the Netherlands at 2.30pm.

Entry to the match is free of charge.

Squads in full:-

Netherlands: Heather Siegers (C), Babette de Leede, Caroline de Lange, Cher van Slobbe, Esther Corder, Helmien Rambaldo, Jolien van Vliet, Julia van der Werf, Leonie Bennett, Liesbeth Klokgieters, Miranda Veringmeier, Robine Rijke, Silver Siegers, Sterre Kalis

Scotland: Abbi Aitken (C), Abtaha Maqsood, Elizabeth Priddle, Jess Mills, Kathleen McGill, Kathryn Bryce, Lois Isla Wilkinson, Lorna Jack, Priyanaz Chatterji, Rebecca Glen, Ruth Willis, Samantha Haggo, Sarah Bryce

USA: Sindhu Sriharsha (C), Candacy Atkins, Claudine Beckford, Shebani Bhaskar, Nadia Gruny, Uzma Iftikhar, Sugetha Kalyaranaman Chandhrasekar, Triholder Marshall, Samantha Ramautar, Akshatha Rao, Sara Farooq, Erica Rendler, Neha Sidhuja, Onika Wallerson