BT Charity Shield 2016.

Photo: Scottish Rugby Union

BT Charity Shield. Heriot’s v Melrose

Friday night rugby at Goldenacre and the BT Charity Shield is on the line as Heriot’s and Melrose go head-to-head for the first piece of silverware of the 2016/2017 season.

With one week to go until the start of the Premiership season, tonight’s BT Charity Shield sees two of Scotland’s top club sides take part in a repeat of the 2015/2016 BT Cup final, a match Heriot’s won 21-13.

Heriot’s are the current title holders and defeated Boroughmuir in last year’s BT Charity Shield match, to compliment their Cup final win.  The league and cup double achieved by the Edinburgh club means that Melrose contest the Charity Shield as runners up from the Cup final.

A fascinating game is in prospect with both sides looking to set down a marker ahead of the new season.  Full match squads below.

Kick-off at 6.45pm.

Admission is on the gate priced: Adults £10/Concessions and U18s £5.  All money raised goes to the children’s charity CCLASP.

Heriot’s squad: Gavin Parker; John Rae, Josh Laird, Donald Crawford, Charlie Simpson; Alex Hagart, Tom Wilson; Martin Bouab, Michael Liness CAPTAIN, Struan Cessford, Russell Nimmo, Clarke Smith, Alex Henderson, Jack McClean, Callum Marshall. Replacements: Dylan Mason, Ruaridh Mitchell, Tomas Lapyere, Logan Sinclair, Andrew Simmers, Rory Carmichael, Andy McLean.

Melrose squad: Fraser Thomson; Austin Lockington, George Taylor, Craig Jackson, Ross McCann; Jason Baggot, Murdo McAndrew; Jamie Bhatti, Russell Anderson, Ruaridh McLeod, James Head, Ally Grieve, Neil Irvine-Hess, Grant Runciman CAPTAIN, Iain Moody. Replacements: Cammy McKay, Dan Elkington, Harry Borthwick, Ruaridh Knott, Bruce Colvine, Gavin Wood, Richard Taylor.