Edinburgh Rugby

Photo: Edinburgh Rugby

Edinburgh Rugby v Munster

Friday night rugby under the BT Murrayfield floodlights sees Edinburgh Rugby host Munster in the PRO14.  Kick-off is 7.35pm and tickets are available.

A match originally due to take place on 2nd March – but a victim of the #BeastFromTheEast – goes ahead tonight with all eyes on a club Scotland v Ireland showdown kick-starting a big weekend of 6 Nations action.

These are exciting times for Edinburgh Rugby fans with the team on a hot streak under head coach Richard Cockerill.  A run of nine wins from eleven matches since the beginning of December has included a thrilling 18-17 win against Glasgow Warriors in the opening leg of the 1872 Cup and while they lost the return leg 17-0 at Scotstoun Richard Cockerill’s men got back to winning ways in the PRO14 with a 37-7 bonus point victory over Southern Kings before booking their place in the quarter-finals of the Challenge Cup in January with a 34-33 win (courtesy of a Junior Rasolea’s dramatic 78th minute winning try) over Stade Francais at BT Murrayfield.

Having returned to PRO14 matters at the beginning of February the Edinburgh team have remained a foe to be reckoned with, firstly seeing off Conference B leaders Leinster Rugby 29-24 and then taking a 17-16 road win over Ulster before travelling to Dragons Rugby last week with stand-off Duncan Weir clinching the points in a 25-12 win.  So expect a buoyant Edinburgh Rugby side to take to the pitch tonight against a Munster side who will be no pushover currently riding high in the Conference A table.

Kick-off is at 7.35pm.

Tickets in advance are available via the ‘Get Tickets‘ link.  A £5 discount applies to adults tickets purchased by midnight the day before the match.

Tickets on the day subject to availability.  Checking the Edinburgh Rugby Twitter feed before travelling is recommended.  Adult £25 ~ Senior Citizens and Students £10/£15 ~ Under 18s £5/£10.

Edinburgh Rugby side for tonight’s match (appearances in brackets):

15. Dougie Fife (100)

14. Jason Harries (8)

13. Mark Bennett (5)

12. Chris Dean (60)

11. Duhan van der Merwe (11)

10. Jaco van der Walt (11)

9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (103)

1. Jordan Lay (5)

2. Neil Cochrane (69)

3. Murray McCallum (36)

4. Fraser McKenzie (98) CAPTAIN

5. Ben Toolis (82)

6. Magnus Bradbury (46)

7. John Hardie (27)

8. Bill Mata (31)

Replacements: 16. Cameron Fenton (9); 17. Rory Sutherland (60); 18. Simon Berghan (42); 19. Lewis Carmichael (26); 20. Cornell du Preez (98); 21. Nathan Fowles (53); 22. Duncan Weir (28); 23. Junior Rasolea (25).