Scottish Varsity Match

Royal Bank of Scotland Scottish Varsity Matches 2017

Congratulations to the University of Edinburgh who claimed a memorable 2017 Scottish Varsity Match double winning both the men’s and women’s fixtures in front of another 10,000+ crowd.  We’ll be back next year with a preview and in the meantime for news of international and domestic rugby action in Scotland during the 2017/2018 season don’t forget to sign up to our free weekly newsletter  and check out our Events! page  for fixture previews.

History meets rugby union as BT Murrayfield hosts the Scottish Varsity Match between two of the cradles of the game: University of St Andrews and the University of Edinburgh.  Matches start at 5pm and tickets are available.

Scottish Varsity Match

Photo: Celia-Victoria Powell

2015 saw the world’s oldest varsity match return to Scotland after four year on the road at Richmond Athletic Ground.  And what a success it was as rugby fans mixed with alumni, supporters, friends and family of both Universities to enjoy a great day out at this historic event, a recipe that was repeated in 2016 with more than 10,000 supporteres flocking to Murrayfield.

The world’s oldest varsity match will once again take centre stage on the international pitch at BT Murrayfield this evening.  In 2015 it was University of St Andrews who took the spoils, winning a thriller by 27 points to 26 right at the death.  And they repeated the trick in 2016 winning in some style scoring four tries to Edinburgh’s two and extending their winning streak to four on the bounce.

Scottish Varsity Match

Photo: Celia-Victoria Powell

Meanwhile in the 2015 women’s match it was bragging rights secured for the University of Edinburgh who went one further last year by dishing out a 97-0 defeat of their university rivals.

And so to this year: turnstiles open at 2.30pm in readiness for the Women’s First XV teams who take to the international pitch for their showdown at 5pm.  Then at 6.15pm it’s time for the Scottish Varsity Match betweeen the Men’s First XV teams as they step onto the hallowed Murrayfield turf for the latest instalment of a fixture that dates back over 150 years.

Can University of Edinburgh’s men end the St Andrew’s winning streak?  And in the women’s fixture can St Andrews mount a significant challenge as they bit to win a varsity match for the first time?  Head for Murrayfield today, join what promises to be a passionate crowd, and all will be revealed!

Turnstiles open at 2.30pm ahead of the Women’s 1st XV KO at 5pm and Men’s 1st XV KO at 6.15pm

Tickets in advance are available online via the ‘Get Tickets’ link.

Tickets on the turnstiles are priced: Adults £10/Students and U18s £5.


Women’s match (kick-off 5pm)

University of Edinburgh Women’s First XV: Hannah Septoff; Anne McKelvey, Elizabeth Musgrove, Amy Walter, Lindsay Maguire; Helena Scullion, Rachel Law; Emma Dunbar, Hannah Kurtz, Katie Dougan, Liusaidh McMaster, Debbie Lee, Natalie Guy, Nicola Howat, Sally Stott CAPTAIN.

Replacements: Rebecca Young, Caroline Parker-Smith, Alison Glass, Hannah Gaddie, Dido Denier Van Der Gon, Rachael Harkavy

University of St Andrews Women’s First XV: Shona Parratt; Alexis Jenkins, Myrtille Genot, Rhiannon Fox-Rothwell CAPTAIN, Panashe Dazambo; Abbie Henderson, Emily Jones; Kate Saunders, Beth Tappenden, Georgina Farrington, Mhari Falconer, Sisley Comish, Lucy Hellawell, Nathalie Becker, Amy Parry

Replacements: Emily Brunton, Jordan Coules, Zorra Harris, Abigail Fryer, Sophie Lieke, Lanita Gutieva, Rosanna Curtis

Men’s match (kick-off 6.15pm)

University of Edinburgh Men’s First XV: Jake Smerdon; Peter Howard, Robbie Kent, James Smith, Ben Rose; James Small-Edwards, Bruno Smith; Owen Poweel, Rob Thomas, Max Young, Ben Cogley, Tom Robertson, James Carson, Nick Stephen CAPTAIN, Scott Burnside

Replacements: James Boyle, Josh Alcock, Ed Russell, Harry Ryan, Archie Dunnill, Dave O’Sullivan, Jon Price

University of St Andrews Men’s First XV: Jacques Sharman; Roland Walker CAPTAIN, Scott MacGregor, Toby Hall, Richard De Rome; Finn Murphy, Charlie Davies; Dan Cox, Malcolm Wood-Downey, Dugald Berezford, Stephen Tue, Michael Sutherland, Alex Whyte, Alex Hodgins, TJ Akinjobi

Replacements: Max Kaufman, Jamie Morrison, Ben Peddie, Alex Kulukundis, Rob Lind, Kelvin Chen, Hamish Payne