Championship Riders Individual

The 2017 Championship Riders Individual

The cream of the SGB Championship are in action at Peugeot Ashfield Stadium for the 2017 Championship Riders Individual.  Tapes-up is at 7pm and tickets are available.

Rearranged from its original date at the end of September, Glasgow hosts one of the biggest individual speedway meetings ever held in Scotland this evening.  Sixteen of British speedway’s top riders are in town for the prestigious Championship Riders’ Individual event featuring representatives from every club in the league.

Preview as follows for original Championship Riders Individual meeting date in September:-

Big names like Craig Cook – the British Champion and prospective 2018 Grand Prix rider – 2016 British No 1 Danny King and former World No 6 Chris Harris will join home favourites Richard Lawson and Richie Worrall in going head-to-head over 20 qualifying heats, a semi-final and a final.  Edinburgh Monarchs are represented by Sam Masters and Ricky Wells, while former Tigers Nick Morris of Berwick, Josh Grajconek of Sheffield and the spectacular Ben Barker of Redcar are also in the field.  The event has a host of famous names among its past winners, including two-time World Champion and current Grand Prix rider Tai Woffinden and British speedway legend Simon Stead, the latter taking last year’s title.

Meeting format: Featuring stars from every club (see qualifying riders below) in the SGB Championship, 16 of the best riders will compete in 20 qualifying heats this afternoon.  The top two from the heats go direct to the Grand Final, with the riders placed 3rd-6th racing in a semi-final.  First and second from the semi-final then progress to the Grand Final with the winner crowned 2017 Championship Riders Individual winner.

Qualifying riders: 1. Steve Worrall (Newcastle), 2. Jason Garrity (Redcar), 3. Michael Palm Toft (Scunthorpe), 4. Ricky Wells (Edinburgh), 5. Danny King (Ipswich), 6. Nick Morris (Berwick), 7. Chris Harris (Peterborough), 8. Josh Grajczonek (Sheffield), 9. Kyle Howarth (Sheffield), 10. Craig Cook (Workington), 11. Richard Lawson (Glasgow), 12. Sam Masters (Edinburgh), 13. Richie Worrall (Glasgow), 14. Rory Schlein (Ipswich), 15. Ben Barker (Redcar), 16. Jack Holder (Peterborough).

Doors open at 5pm ahead of Championship Riders Individual tapes-up at 7pm.

Tickets on the day available from the ticket office by cash or card payment: Adults £20 ~ Concessions £15 ~ Children 5yrs-16yrs £5.