Glasgow 2014. Cycling Time Trial

Scotland could be celebrating a famous cycling gold medal today with David Millar one of the favourites in the men’s race.  Having missed out on the Tour de France, Millar, in his final season before retirment has his sights set on defending the Commonwealth time trial title he won in Delhi in 2010.  Rivals include England’s Alex Dowsett who won silver in Delhi and Australia’s national time trial champion Michael Hepburn.

In the women’s race England’s Emma Pooley, will be looking to add a Commonwealth crown to her British national title, while Scotland’s hopes resting on Katie Archibald.  Both will face stiff competition from New Zealand’s Linda Villumsen if they are to take the top step of the podium.

The Time Trial route (40km for men, 30km for women) will start and finish in Glasgow Green with a single loop course taking in the countryside of East Dunbartonshire and North Lanarkshire as well as the city’s East End.  This map of the course can be viewed via the Glasgow 2014 website.  Free viewing all areas!

Start and finish times are 10am to 11.30am for the women’s event (running order here) and 12.30pm to 3.20pm for the men’s event (running order here).  Katie Archibald starts at 10.27am and David Millar is last man out in the men’s race at 2.28pm.