Tour Series Grand Final

The Tour Series Grand Final takes place at an iconic Surrey venue to decide who will be crowned the 2019 champions.  Racing starts at 12 noon and spectating is free.

A century on from holding the first mass start cycle events on the famous Brooklands circuit, the OVO Energy Tour Series brings elite men’s and women’s racing back to the historic Surrey venue.

tour series grand final

Photo: SWPix

Since early May Britain’s leading domestic teams have gone head-to-head over seven rounds in a bid bid to be crowned OVO Energy Tour Series champions.

The defending champions are Canyon Eisberg and Team Breeze who claimed the 2018 men’s and women’s titles respectively.

Eight women’s and seven men’s teams have competed at every round and today will see the overall series winners celebrating with champagne on top of the podium.

Don’t miss this unique opportunity to witness road racing up close and personal, as Britain’s finest elite cyclists battle it out on the Surrey streets at Tour Series Brooklands!

The full running order is as follows:-

12 noon: Youth A/B support racetour series grand final
12.45pm: Youth C/D support race
1.15pm: Men’s support race (2/3)
14:15 Corporate Challenge qualifying heats
2.15pm: eBike demonstration
4.30pm: Corporate Challenge final
5.30pm: Elite women’s race followe by podium ceremony
7pm: Elite Men’s race followed by podium ceremony

Spectating is free on the Tour Series Brooklands course.

About the Tour Series: The OVO Energy Tour Series is a fun, fast and free annual road race event made up of 7 rounds of criterium racing (i.e. several laps around a closed circuit) each one taking place in a different city centre in Britain in May.

Launched in 2009, the series sees Britain’s best male and female riders compete against each other in a unique, team-based format as part of a full day of sporting and community-focused activities.

British sporting heroes Laura Kenny, Dani Rowe, Joanna Rowsell, Ed Clancy, Elinor Barker and Dame Sarah Storey have all competed in the series during its 10-year history, during which time nearly two million fans have watched a round.

The series is all about the teams, so when a rider crosses the line first it doesn’t necessarily follow that their team also wins the round. Yes, that rider gets the honour and glory of the individual victory, but the aim for teams is to complete the race in the lowest cumulative time.

Teams are permitted to start each race with five riders, and it is the combined time of their four highest-placed riders (three for women’s teams) that decides who is the fastest on the night. The team who consistently performs the best and scores the highest combined points tally claim the prestigious OVO Energy Tour Series title.